All Articles

Iowa State Mathematics Department Boasts Eighteen Participants at SEICCGTC Conference

Iowa State University’s Mathematics Department boasted 18 participants in the Southeastern International Conference on Combinatorics, Graph Theory and Computing (SEICCGTC), more than any other school that was involved in the Conference.

Celebrating its 50th year, the Conference was held March 4-8 at Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, Florida. Bringing together mathematicians and those who are interested in combinatorics, graph theory and computing, the five-day Conference featured lectures, papers and discussions.

ISU’s 18 participants included 2 faculty members, 2 postdoctoral students and 14 students.

Leslie Hogben, professor of mathematics and the Dio Lewis Holl Chair in Applied Mathematics is one of the editors of the commemorative volume associated with the conference—50 Years of Combinatorics, Graph Theory and Computing. The book will showcase the mathematics that have been featured at the SEICCGTC Conference throughout its 50-year history.

Each chapter is being written by a leading mathematics expert. Hogben will author one of the chapters. Steve Butler, associate professor and the Barbara J. Janson professor in the department of mathematics, will also write one of the chapters in the book.

For additional information about the SEICCGTC conference, click here.