All Articles

Leslie Hogben named Fellow of the Association for Women in Mathematics

professional photo of Leslie Hogben
Leslie Hogben (Christopher Gannon/Iowa State University)

Leslie Hogben, professor of mathematics, Dio Lewis Holl Chair in Applied Mathematics and dean for graduate studies and faculty development of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, has been named a 2020 Fellow of the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM).

The AWM selected 18 distinguished women, from across the United States, to receive this award which recognizes women for their exceptional dedication to increasing the success and visibility of women in mathematics.

According to the AWM, Hogben received this honor, “For her creative and effective efforts to spark interest in mathematics among young people, especially girls; for her extensive contributions to advancing women in mathematics through writing, lectures and working with the AWM and other professional societies; and for her mentorship of students.”

The 2020 Fellows, including Hogben, will be honored at a reception and awards presentation as part of the AWM’s Joint Mathematics Meeting in Denver, Colorado on January 16, 2020.

For additional information on the award and to see a complete list of honorees, please visit the following link.